Personal Update – A Brand New Year

It’s been far too long since I updated my website, and it’s high time to rectify that.

The holidays have always been an insanely busy time for me, and this year was no exception. Between preparing for Christmas, having my eldest home for two weeks due to winter break, and dealing with seasonal depression, there wasn’t much time to focus on art or writing. Adding to the chaos during the last week of the year was a horrible case of the flu which I unfortunately picked up at work and unwittingly shared with everyone in the family, and the fact that my husband’s car has become a giant paperweight in our garage, so we now have to share one car between the two of us.

December was an extremely stressful month, and there were times I felt completely overwhelmed and brought close to the breaking point.

But now it’s a brand new year, and things are finally starting to settle back down into a routine. My husband and I have worked out the kinks of sharing one vehicle, my eldest daughter is back in school, and I’ve got art and writing projects in progress.

Artwise, I’m working on my largest tessellation project to date. The image is on a 16″x20″ piece of drawing board, and I’ll be posting up WIP images later.

Writing-wise, I’ve been re-reading “The Chronicles of Narnia” over December, and I’m currently plotting out a novel-length story involving Susan Pevensie set well after “The Last Battle” of the original series. Susan’s fate, as described in that last book by C.S. Lewis, has always rubbed me the wrong way over the years, and this year I think I plan to do something about it.

To my followers, thank you for sticking with me over my unintentional month-long hiatus this past December. I look forward to sharing more of my artwork and writing in 2014.

 

Leave a Reply

